Historic Preservation Committee

The Historic Preservation Committee shall be appointed by the president of the State Society. The historic preservation committee's functions are: 1. To focus on activities for the promotion and preservation of any historical heritage of our state. 2. To encourage documentation and research of historic sites, buildings and archaeological features that might be threatened by destruction or construction. 3. To keep the Executive Committee of the Society informed of sites which might be endangered. 4. To select the Maurine Carley Award. The Maurine Carley Memorial Award is made by the Wyoming State Historical Society to an organization or an individual in recognition of an outstanding project in the field of historic preservation. The award is presented at the Annual Awards presentation during the Annual Meeting.


Position/Appointment Expiration Address
Chair: (Appointed)
Pam Thompson
995 Oak Creek Road
Aladdin, WY 82710
2012 Amy Lawrence
15 Lawrence Rd.
Laramie, WY 82070-9713
2013 Greg Kocken
Dept. 3924, 1000 E. University
Laramie, WY 82071
SHPO National Register coordinator
Nancy Weidel
2301 Central Ave.
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Wyoming National Register Review Board – SHPO
 Art Kidwell
13 Bison Lane
Clark, WY 82435-8114
SHPO Staff Representative
 Nancy Weidel
St. Hist. Pres. Office
2301 Central Ave.
Cheyenne, WY 82002
 2014 Arlene Ekland-Earnst
514 S. 5th
Douglas, WY 82633
Ex Officio Rick Ewig, WSHS President and Linda Fabian, WSHS Executive Secretary